• a
    • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

      This multi-disciplinary database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,700 of these titles, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed. This database also includes the former database Academic Search Elite.

    • ACS - American Chemical Society

      Journals covering chemical and related sciences.

    • AEA - American Economic Association

      This database includes 7 major journals in economics.

    • AgeLine

      This database provides bibliographic information about social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts.

    • AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine (Ovid)

      This database covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine and palliative care, as well as professions allied to medicine: physiotherapy, occupational therapy and logopedics.

  • b
  • c
    • Campbell Library

      Systematic reviews in areas such as education, criminal justice, social policy and social care.

    • CINAHL

      Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) is among the world's most comprehensive and authoritative research database.

    • Cochrane

      Databases in evidence-based practice, including systematic reviews and meta-analyses, which summarise and interpret the results of research in health and medicine, and the effects of treatments. Full-text.

    • Colourbox

      The image database Colourbox contains images, videos and illustrations with no royalty-fees. The images may be used in teaching, articles or for marketing purposes for our university. Our licence allows HSN students or employees up to 30 downloads a month.

  • d
    • Dawsonera

      E-books. Requires a password when off-campus.

  • e
    • Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary)

      Close to 140 000 e-books from publishers in all academic subjects, focusing on economics, the humanities, social sciences, health and technology. Books may be read online without being a registered user. For downloading to your computer, create your own user account (choose "sign in" from top right) and follow the instructions.

    • EBSCOhost

      Password is required off-campus. Joint user interface of many library databases

    • Embase - Excerpta Medica Database (Ovid)

      A European-oriented reference database of medicine and pharmacology. Password is required when off-campus

    • Epistemonikos

      Free. Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care and information technologies to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.

    • ERIC

      This database provides access to educational literature and information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Password is required when off-campus

  • h
    • Helsebiblioteket (The Norwegian Electronic Health Library)

      A publicly funded online knowledge service for healthcare professionals and students in Norway. The website provides free access to point-of-care tools, guidelines, systematic reviews, scientific journals, and a wide variety of other full-text resources for health-care professionals and students. Some sources require skills in the Norwegian language, but others are pointers to databases in English.

    • HSN Open Archive

      USNs insitutional repository where you will find academic and scientific works in full-text. It contains articles, PhD theses, master theses as well as some bachelor theses. HSN Open Archive is a part of the national collaboration BIBSYS Brage, where over 50 institutions publish their publications.

  • i
    • IEEE Xplore

      Full text access to quality technical literature in engineering and technology. In addition to journals and citations, the database also covers conferences and standards. Requires a password when off-campus.

    • ImageQuest: Britannica

      Image database that contains close to 3 million historical images that are royalty-free. The images may be used in written assignments and in teaching. You will find a guided tour of the database if you click on the word "help".

    • IMO Virtual Publications

      Database published by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) and Det Norske Veritas (DNV). Contains necessary information on safety and pollution prevention requirements applicable to ships. IMO conventions, regulations and codes. Password required.

    • IoP Electronic Journals

      Provides access to 30 journals from the Institute of Physics in sciences such as physics, micro-mechanics, optometry and nano-technology. Password is required when off-campus.

  • j
    • JCR - Journal Citation Reports

      JCR offers a systematic means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. It provides lists of journals of the highest impact factor in all academic fields. Password is required when off-campus.

    • JSTOR

      This database contains more than 2000 academic journals, some dating back to the first volume ever published. All academic fields are covered, but the database focuses particularly on arts and humanities, social sciences, business and economics. Password is required when off-campus.

  • l
    • Library of Congress

      Free. Online catalogue of the Library of Congress: the American national library. Points to worldwide library catalouges.

  • m
    • Maternity and Infant Care

      Maternity and Infant Care is an important resource in midwifery profession. The database contains more than 217,000 references with abstracts to journal articles from over 550 international English language journals, books, and grey literature relating to the midwifery profession and post- and neonatal care. 3 simultaneous users can access the database.

    • MathSciNet

      Provides bibliographic information, abstracts and some full-text coverage in mathematics. Requires password when off-campus.

    • MEDLINE

      Bibliographic database that contains citations and abstracts from biomedical and health journals. Password is required when off-campus.

    • Music Periodicals Database‎, formerly IIMP (ProQuest)

      Password is required off-campus Music literature. (Formerly known as IIMP - International Index to Music Periodicals.)

  • n
    • Nature complete

      Nature complete is a collection of some the world's most prestigeous scientific journals. In addittion to the main journal Nature, the database includes titles like Nature Energy, Nature Genetics, Nature Materials, Nature Medicine, Nature Microbiology , Eye and Scientific American.

  • o
    • OECD Education iLibrary

      This database provides access to educational literature and information from journals, books and statistics from OECD.

    • Oria

      The HSN Library catalogue for books, articles etc. Log on to request items or renew loans. "Norwegian Academic Libraries" search other libraries' catalogues.

    • Ovid

      This offers a joint-user interface with many databases in health and medical sciences. Password is required when off-campus.

  • p
    • ProQuest

      Password is required off-campus (or access through Helsebiblioteket/Tidsskrifter). Full-text. Covers all academic fields, but empasises on health and nursing.

    • PsycINFO (Ovid)

      Bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations from academic literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Password is required when off-campus.

    • PubMed

      Free. More than 23 million citations from biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text.

    • PubPsych

      Free. PubPsych contains citations in psychology from PubMed and ERIC, and more.

  • r
  • s
    • Safari Books Online

      Safari Books Online (Tech Books) contains 35 000 e-books in computer science and related fields such as mathematics and engineering. Password is required when off-campus.

    • SAGE Online Journals

      Full-text database, covering all academic subjects. Sepcifically focusing on the sciences, medicine, arts and humanities and social sciences. Password is required when off-campus.

    • SAGE Research Methods

      More than 600 e-books, articles and information on research methods in the social sciences. Password is required when off-campus.

    • ScienceDirect

      Science Direct is one of the world's largest collections of full-text scholarly journals in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and economics. Password is required when off-campus.

    • SciFinder (CAS)

      Chemistry database. Also covers related disciplines such as biomedicine and materials science. Create a free user account to be able to search.

    • Scopus

      Bibliographic database. It focuses on the sciences, medicine and social sciences. It's primary source are academic journals. Citation search is possible. Password is required when off-campus.

    • SportDiscus (Ebsco)

      Find full-text and bibliographic information in sport science and related fields such as health promotion, sports medicine and physiology from more than 490 core journals.

    • SpringerLink

      This contains journals in full-text, covering all academic subjects. Password is required when off-campus.

  • t
    • Taylor & Francis

      This database covers all academic subjects. Password is required when off-campus.

    • Trip

      A free clinical search engine.

  • w
    • Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge)

      Bibliographic database covering all academic fields of the world's most cited scholarly journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities. Citation search is possible. It also includes links to fulltext and to Google Scholar. Password is required when off-campus.

    • Wiley Online Library

      Aproximately 400 full-text journals from Wiley-Blackwell in the sciences, economics, technology and medicine. Password is required when off-campus.